History of Waroona
Settlers began to arrive in this area in the late 1830’s, although what was then known as Drakesbrook didn’t come into its own until the Pinjarra-to-Picton railway line was opened in 1893. The building of the railway and the local timber industry boosted the town, and the railway brought many more settlers to the district.
The town catered to the mill workers, with a post office, a general store, a blacksmith, a number of hotels and boarding houses, churches, a doctor and a dentist. The farms supplied butter, fruit and vegetables for the workers and chaff for the horse teams that hauled the logs.
Learn more at the Waroona Visitor Centre, which includes an art and craft gallery, visitor, tourism and community information, and a travellers’ library.
Ask at the Visitor Centre about Waroona’s vibrant ‘Art in the Community’ series, which has produced a variety of intriguing public art around the town.